December 6, 2018, 1:00 pm

NFL announces nominees for Walter Payton Man of Year award

The NFL proclaimed today the 32 nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award bestowed by Nationwide

NFL announces nominees for Walter Payton Man of Year award

Friend(s) Email Your Email Send Email

The NFL proclaimed today the 32 nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award bestowed by Nationwide. Representing the best of the NFL's committedness to philanthropic gift and gathering contact, each of these participants was chosen as his team's Man of the Year and is now bailable to win the political unit awarding. Considered one of the league's most esteemed honors, the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award bestowed by Nationwide recognizes an NFL participant for superior gathering work activities off the field, as well as quality on the field. First constituted in 1970, the political unit awarding was renamed in 1999 aft the late Hall of Fame Chicago Bears moving back Walter Payton.

"The Man of the Year Award gives us the chance to admit 32 model participants whose committedness to quality extends on and off the field," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. "This year's nominees have used their platforms to change communities crosswise the country. We are proud of their work and observe their fidelity and contact done this awarding."

New this year, all 32 team winners will be highlighted as finalists and accepted for their of import work during the weekend prima up to Super Bowl LIII. The 2018 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year will be proclaimed during NFL Honors, a two-hour prime-time awardings particular to air political unitly on Feb. 2, the eve of Super Bowl LIII, on CBS. NFL Honors will be at Fox Theatre in Atlanta.

$500,000 will be donated in the name of the 2018 winner. $250,000 will be donated in his name to expand Character Playbook, the NFL and United Way's digital character education program. An additional donation of $250,000 will be donated to the charity of his choice. All other 31 nominees will receive a donation of $50,000 in their name to expand Character Playbook, and an additional donation of up to $50,000 to their charity of choice. All donations are courtesy of the NFL Foundation, Nationwide and United Way Worldwide.

"Nationwide is honored to help highlight and support the incredible efforts of this year's team nominees," said Nationwide's Chief Marketing Officer Terrance Williams. "We hope others are inspired by these 32 men to make positive differences -- big and small -- in their own communities. Congratulations and thank you to each of the nominees for their leadership both on and off the field."

Fans are encouraged to participate in Nationwide’s fourth annual Charity Challenge, a social media campaign designed to support and promote team nominees. Fans can vote by using #WPMOYChallenge on Twitter with their favorite nominee's last name somewhere in the post between Dec. 6 and Jan. 13. The participant whose unique hashtag is used the most will receive a $25,000 contribution to their charity of choice, courtesy of Nationwide. Hashtag information and official rules can be found at

Beginning in 2017, the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year trophy silhouette came to life in uniform elements to further recognize past awarding winners and current nominees. The five current participants who have won the awarding -- Drew Brees, Thomas Davis, Larry Fitzgerald, Eli Manning and J.J. Watt -- continue to wear a Man of the Year patch on their jerseys to recognize their superior contributions to the game and to their communities. All 2018 nominees will wear a Man of the Year helmet decal beginning Week 14 and continuing done the end of the season in recognition of their accomplishments on and off the field.

The NFL will also continue to surprise fans crosswise the country with invitations to attend Super Bowl LIII in Atlanta. A total of 500 free tickets will be distributed as a way to give back to dedicated NFL fans and provide them with a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Each Man of the Year nominee will receive two Super Bowl LIII tickets to give away to gathering recipients of their choice.

For more information on the nominees and the awarding, visit

Below is the list of the 2018 nominees:

Arizona Cardinals S Antoine Bethea

Atlanta Falcons DT Grady Jarrett

Baltimore Ravens CB Brandon Carr

Buffalo Bills LB Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers DE Julius Peppers

Chicago Bears TE Trey Burton

Cincinnati Bengals DE Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns LB Christian Kirksey

Dallas Cowboys QB Dak Prescott

Denver Broncos LB Von Miller

Detroit Lions QB Matthew Stafford

Green Bay Packers NT Kenny Clark

Houston Texans LB Whitney Mercilus

Indianapolis Colts DE Jabaal Sheard

Jacksonville Jaguars QB Blake Bortles

Kansas City Chiefs P Dustin Colquitt

Los Angeles Chargers DT Corey Liuget

Los Angeles Rams OT Andrew Whitworth

Miami Dolphins WR Kenny Stills

Minnesota Vikings TE Kyle Rudolph

New England Patriots S Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints RB Mark Ingram

New York Giants S Michael Thomas

New York Jets OT Kelvin Beachum

Oakland Raiders RB Marshawn Lynch

Philadelphia Eagles DE Chris Long

Pittsburgh Steelers DE Cameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ers K Robbie Gould

Seattle Seahawks LB K.J. Wright

Tampa Bay Buccaneers DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans DT Jurrell Casey

Washington Redskins TE Vernon Davis

16 for '16: The best of what college football has to offer Building the perfect quarterback Most vulnerable division champs Draft class power rankings 10 CFB teams for a 'Hard Knocks'-style show Luv ya Blue NFL epilogue to epic college football moments The Ohio River Offense Get fit like your favorite participants 'Varsity Blues' oral history

Did you like the news?

Recommended for you

Share Share