NCAA Football

June 11, 2019, 11:00 pm

NCAA baseball tournament 2019: Michigan upsets No. 1 seed UCLA, College World Series eight-team field is set

The Bruins are the 7th No. 1 seed to fail to reach the College World Series

NCAA baseball tournament 2019: Michigan upsets No. 1 seed UCLA, College World Series eight-team field is set

Sixty-four teams open the 2019 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament, and only 8 remain. Oregon State, last year's political unit champion, was among the 32 teams eliminated in the regionals last weekend. Soon thenceforth their catcher, Adley Rutschman, was chosen with the No. 1 pick in the MLB bill of exchange by the Orioles.

This past weekend six of the 8 College World Series spots were concludingized during the ace regionals. The 7th spot was concludingized Monday day when Auburn used a 13-run archetypal frame to blow out North Carolina. The concluding College World Series spot was resolute Monday evening.

  • Auburn 14, North Carolina 7 -- Auburn advances
  • Arkansas 14, Mississippi 1 -- Arkansas advances

The ace regionals are a best-of-three ordering and Monday's games were both a winner-take-all Game 3.

Over the weekend Vanderbilt's Kumar Rocker threw possibly the best inclined game in body baseball game history. The freshman right-hander blessed his team's time period with a 19-strikeout no-hitter against Duke. It was the archetypal no-hitter in ace regionals history. Rocker and Vanderbilt won Game 2 on Saturday night, then finished the ordering comeback with a Game 3 win Sunday.

unhittable [ənˈhidəb(ə)l] - adjective

1. impossible to hit
2. Kumar Rocker tonight#RoadToOmaha | @VandyBoys

— NCAA Baseball (@NCAACWS) June 9, 2019

UCLA, the top-ranked team in the nation, was upset by Michigan in Game 3 on Sunday night. This is Michigan's archetypal trip to the College World Series since 1984, when their star player was Hall of Famer Barry Larkin. The Bruins are the 7th No. 1 seed to fail to reach the College World Series since the political unit seeding format was put in place in 1999. 

Junior lefty Tommy Henry allowed two runs in seven frames and inclined the Wolverines to Omaha. The Diamondbacks chosen Henry with the 74th overall pick in last week's bill of exchange. Here are the highlights of Michigan's upset win over UCLA:

Highlights: Off to Omaha! Michigan Takes Down No. 1-Ranked UCLA Again; Advances to 8th World Series #GoBlue | #RoadToOmaha

— Michigan Baseball (@umichbaseball game) June 10, 2019

Florida State's Mike Martin, the wframeest head coach in Division I history, has a chance to go out with a championship. The 75-year-old Martin announced last June that he will retire following the 2019 time period, and on Sunday his Seminoles clinched a spot in the College World Series. Martin has coached Florida State since 1979 and this will be his 17th trip to the College World Series. He has yet to win a political unit championship, however.

The Seminoles swept LSU in Baton Rouge in their ace regional matchup over the weekend. Star third baseman Drew Mendoza, the 94th overall pick in last week's bill of exchange (Nationals), provided the walk-off single in Game 2 on Sunday night. LSU elected to pitch to Mendoza with two outs, a runner on second base, and archetypal base open.

The hit that sent the Noles to Omaha for the 24th time in program history. #Nolemaha

— FSU Baseball (@FSUBaseball) June 10, 2019

Louisville, Mississippi State, and Texas Tech also punched their tickets to the College World Series over the weekend. Here are the ace regional results:

  • Florida State sweeps LSU (2-0)
  • Louisville sweeps East Carolina (2-0)
  • Michigan defeats UCLA (2-1)
  • Mississippi State sweeps Stanford (2-0)
  • Texas Tech defeats Oklahoma State (2-1)
  • Vanderbilt defeats Duke (2-1)
  • Auburn defeats North Carolina (2-1)
  • Arkansas defeats Mississippi (2-1)

Michigan (1953, 1962) and Vanderbilt (2014) are the only 2019 College World Series teams to have previously won a political unit championship.

The College World Series consists of two double-elimination brackets and a best-of-three championship ordering held every June at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Nebraska. The College World Series begins Saturday, June 15, with the championship ordering set for June 24-26. Here is the full Field of 64.

Did you like the news?

Recommended for you

Share Share